Expect moderate to heavy rain in some parts of the country – Met

The meteorological department said in its latest forecast that most parts of the country will experience moderate to heavy rainfall from Friday to Saturday.

The forecast shows the rains will be concentrated in the western part of the country and parts of the Rift Valley, including Nairobi.

The forecast for Nairobi indicates that rainfall of up to 20 mm is expected in six regions.

These are Makadara, Westlands, Kamukunji, Embakasi Central, North and West, as well as Mathare and Ruaraka.

According to the forecast, in the afternoon the areas will experience rain with sunny intervals.

Minimum temperatures are expected to reach 16˚C and maximum temperatures of 25˚C in the capital.

In Uasin Gishu, Bomet is expected to receive rainfall of up to 20 mm, but the intensity will be higher in neighboring Turbo, Ainabkoi, Kapsabet and Kesses.

The meteorologist said that the intensity of rain in these areas will range between 20 mm and almost 100 mm.

In the afternoon, rain accompanied by sunny intervals will be experienced in Eldoret with a minimum temperature of 14˚C and a maximum temperature of 23˚C.

Rain and sunny conditions will also be experienced in Mombasa, Kisumu and Nyeri, while Nakuru and Marsabit will experience sunny intervals during the forecast period, the meteorologist said.

Garissa, Mandera, Voi, Wajir, Kitale, Kisii and Narok are also forecast to experience sunny spells.

Elsewhere, cloudy and sunny intervals are expected in Meru, Kitui, Machakos and Makindu, while Lamu will experience sunny intervals and showers.

Meanwhile, a forecast by the Igad Climate Prediction and Applications Center shows that the western parts of Kenya and the coast are expected to receive heavy rainfall in the June to September season period.

Djibouti, Eritrea, central and northern Ethiopia, much of Uganda, South Sudan and Sudan will also receive above-normal rainfall.

The temperature forecast shows a probability of warmer than normal conditions in Kenya and northern Sudan, central and western Ethiopia, Somalia, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania.

Related Articles

Back to top button